h1

corpus christi 42009

April 22, 2009

Sun postures steadily over long drawn waves
The pulse of the world:
My thumbs buried deep in pressure points to tell the tides.

Church bells sing Gloria!
To each stepping stone, each breaking wall
Hibiscus turns like trumpets
A red fanfare to salute the morning

An ebbing applause,
The words the Gulf speaks to say its good mornings

Where silently I stand, bracing myself against a wooden banister
Fighting back the tears shed for only Kings of the People.

(for Read.Write.Poem.)

5 comments

  1. nicely done…..especially like “hibiscus turns like trumpet”


  2. Loved that starting line!

    going from one extreme to the other


  3. “An ebbing applause” – I like this turning point and how it relates to other strong sensory details.


  4. Interesting! I especially respond to “My thumbs buried deep in pressure points to tell the tides.” Delicious.

    I want to understand the last line but am too dense!


  5. I concur with Danielle, the pressure points line is wonderful.



Leave a Reply

