h1

ocean children

April 18, 2009

(Okay, so I’m on vacation with my band, and we’re on a beach. Most of these students have never been to the ocean, and probably half or more will never go again. That’s your backstory.

They are brand new ocean children
Made of the saline solutions of vacation.
Their pasty skin is newly bronzed;
Even cloudy skies don’t keep out
Dreams of sun and summer.

Birds are not new
Waves are not new
But in their sudden transformation
They become ageless nymphs
Freshly native.

(for Read.Write.Poem.)

4 comments

  1. I like this


  2. I remember my first ocean. It was bliss. Salty bliss.


  3. “Made of the saline solutions of vacation.”

    I LOVE that line LOL.

    http://lori102870.blogspot.com/2009/04/had-it-been-snake-it-wouldve-bitten.html


  4. Oooh I love it! It makes me wanna go to the beach again. It’s been too long since I’ve been to one too! My first ocean (sea really) was the Med. Then it was years before I ever touched the Pacific. Perhaps I will see and play in the Atlantic this summer.



Leave a Reply

