h1

life not mine 40909

April 12, 2009

For mere seconds, parked
Three crossed the median, laughing
Gathered in friendship, traveling.

These are my friends reflected in others.
My eyes realized these existed, other people’s friends.

I watched people drive from intersection to intersection
First car, a fight
Second car, someone singing
Third car, a phone conversation

It is not often that life not mine is so clear to me
Windows long shaded now open
Clouds over mountains passing
Words long gibberish, made known

(for Read.Write.Poem.)

4 comments

  1. Very good poem. I was drawn in.

    I like these lines:
    These are my friends reflected in others.
    My eyes realized these existed, other people’s friends.


  2. I like this one very much. There is warmth here.


  3. windows long shaded now open….like very much


  4. I like the shift toward a minor transcendence with:

    Words long gibberish, made known

    the phrasing makes the statement vacillate between
    the gibberish becoming clear and how all those words
    fuse in a gibberish



Leave a Reply

