h1

moon reveal 40709

April 10, 2009

Was a time when moonlight would tempt me,
Move my heart and grip me,
Under moonlit waves of night and wind
I’d dream of ancient lore.

Then, thought and information mounded
Within the path of knowledge rounded,
And ever I did learn that more was life
And life was more.

Take from this what you will, but came
A certainty without a name,
And from it a doubt and suspicion
That gripped my spirited mind.

Once, I longed for white-winter maidens
And gods with heads all horn-laden
And wanton dreams of powers
Reaching out beyond all time.

My brain was sorted and reordered;
My mind was soothed for further borders
And I lost my faith in things unseen
And far less profound.

Came a day when gods abandoned,
And my heart felt nearly ransomed
Until I looked into the sky
To see the glowing round.

A floating stone, a massive rock
In tidal and earthly gravity lock
Shining nightly and for seasons
And explored by men like me.

What left is there to know and learn
When all the superstitions burn
And left I am with only reason?
I’d say eternity.

(for Read.Write.Poem.)

3 comments

  1. I love the “floating stone” stanza. Throughout the poem your rhymes are gentle and carry the lines along to the next. Nice writing.


  2. You are very profound in your writing. Thank you for sharing it with us.

    http://lori102870.blogspot.com/2009/04/stitch-in-timenapowrimo-10by-me.html


  3. Very deep poem..

    A man, his fiddle and crows



Leave a Reply

