h1

other people’s husbands 40609

April 8, 2009

Joys and fluttering hearts and giggles
I get from hearing about other people’s husbands;
About how they kiss them on the neck in the morning
Or how they exhibit comedic timing exceptional.
Winks, a wet eye. All vicarious.
And day wandered thoughts about when I will have it
For myself, so I can tell stories
How he refuses to sit anywhere but near a window
Or where he wanders off to when he’s lonely
And how he always comes home to me sitting up, waiting.
How he plays guitar better than well
And how we often talk about taking a band on the road.
Yelling over dishes
Crying over commercials
Heating up leftover lasagna and having a night in.
Tales of triumphs over ourselves while the other holds on
Hands clasped tight around each other’s hands
Talk of what he reads, and what secrets I can’t tell.
Getting along with his parents, and Christmas with mine.

(for Read.Write.Poem.)

3 comments

  1. Wow, such a sad poem. Envy and longing, such painful, powerful creatures… Good luck on the “hunt” 🙂


  2. I like this one.

    I may want you to put together a collection of your favorites so I can use them in a class. Would you be willing?


  3. Nicely done.

    I like: “so I can tell stories”

    I think that pretty much sums up all of life, those five words.



Leave a Reply

