h1

iowans can get gay-married

April 3, 2009

Okay, so the title is a farce, but the truth of it is, Iowa has decided to lift the ban on gay marriage. What a wonderful day! I might just celebrate it by getting married myself…

What I want to point out is this makes Iowans of most configurations now able to have a family. I’ve not always been one to want kids, but I know plenty of people who do and happiness is a good thing.

Phil Plait over at Bad Astronomy tells it like it is on the issue of what a family is and why the law should not get in the way of that. I agree with him whole-heartedly.

Congratulations, Iowa. You just took two steps forward. You may now pass GO.

2 comments

  1. I hollered a big ‘ole WOOT in my car this morning when I heard the news on NPR. Three down, forty-seven to go!


  2. Hhaha, I know right? I heard it on the news last night. What’s funny about this?

    Midwest Iowa did what California could not.



Leave a Reply

