h1

writing for an audience of one

December 8, 2008

Last time I was actively writing here was back in mid-October, maybe before that even. I go through spells where writing is not what I want to do, and trying to get something out is almost physically painful. This was one of those times, sure, and part of it had to do with me trying to write on four blogs at once, as well as running online forum games with my friends. Burn-out is my middle name.

Also, it came to my attention that I was probably not reaching many ears with my ramblings here. I know of three dedicated readers, occasionally four, and for some reason, I decided this wasn’t enough of a reason for me to write.

About a year ago (I think), Krista at The Silent K wrote about writing for writing’s sake, and that she was the only audience she really needed. That is the attitude I wish I could manage.

So here I am again, writing before work, trying to cram in a post. I don’t know what I’m gonna do with this blog, or if I’m gonna do anything. I was spurred on by an episode of Skepticality where two blogging skeptics told about their trip to the Discovery Institute. There was a small plug for activism through whatever means necessary. I figure it’s worth another shot.

On that note, I don’t want to go to work. I’d be perfectly content to sit here and research news sites for a couple different posts. But I don’t know of anyone who gets paid to do that.

7 comments

  1. I have a blogging friend who’s all about the audience. I DO think that audience is important – the main reason I blog is for the community and the feedback and all that comes with that – but I see no reason why writing for oneself would be any less valid.

    As I drove my 11-year-old to school this morning (with her in the back seat all grumpy and pissed-off), I thought about how wonderful it will be for me (and my children) to have my written record of our everyday lives on my blog. I could just as easily write in a journal – and the truth is that there are some things that even *I* deem too private for blog posting – but having the input of others somehow makes me feel more connected. I LIKE knowing that I”m not the only one who’s pissed off about Prop 8. I LIKE knowing that other teachers can get just as frustrated as I do and still love their jobs. I LIKE knowing that others have survived teenage daughters and lived to tell about it. I think that’s important. Even if it weren’t, though, having these thoughts to look back on would make the project of writing them worthwhile.


  2. You know, I never thought of that.


  3. I’m responding as affirmation that I read your blog. I like hearing what you have to say, even if the topics are random. Lucky you, I don’t require topical reading when I’m interested in knowing what people are thinking, feeling, going through.


  4. You know, I never thought of that.

    SEE?! THAT’S what I’m talking about! One of the main things I love about blogging is that I get to put my stuff out there and hear what other people think about it. It’s nice to get a perspective from outside my own head every once in a while…


  5. *hugs* Glad to see you back. I blog for the hell of it. Most of the time I need to get something off my chest and I know some people are out there willing to give a virtual hug and whatnot to help me feel a bit better. That and I know I should probably write in a real journal, typing is just faster, and I can read the font better than my own hand writing. 😛


  6. […] part 3: the redefinition December 10, 2008 In an effort to turn this whole “audience of one” thing around, I’m gonna keep these posts […]


  7. I’m looking forward to when I came look at my Sad Cow posts and say, “Phew, I’m beyond that.”

    Self reflection and betterment.



Leave a Reply

