h1

first day of school: part two

August 25, 2008

So it went very largely without incident. I’m finding more and more that I am in a very great position with this job. While I am required to teach classes on my own, I am not required to set up any parameters for behavior or punishment, and I am merely the one who “helps out,” meaning I won’t have to implement very must curriculum on my own. It’s quite lovely, though, to be honest, not the most exciting thing. But I can live with that.

I assist in the morning, which means I watch and do small things here or there. Oh, and take attendance. Really, since my job is very clerical in nature, I spend more time doing paperwork and handling money than I will probably teach at the high school.

After first period, its a thirty-minute wrap up period before bolting over to one of the middle schools (we’ll call it MS1) just in time to help Techie Director, so called because of his fascination with gadgets and his decision to fit his classroom with an overhead projector with proper tools and without permission, and he did well. There, I will help teach one class and assist in another, then its over to MS2.

Over here, Percussion Director will have me teaching flutes, saxes, and probably assisting with clarinets or something. I don’t know yet. I’m there one period, then eating lunch, then back to teach two classes back to back, and then back to the high school for more clerical work/copy running.

The only work I do beyond this will be teaching sectionals after school three days a week. It’s funny. It seems like I will be at school nearly four hours before I actually have to teach anything. I could be wrong, but that’s what its looking like.

I didn’t get any caffeine until lunch, so that made the morning really hard, not to mention all that lack of sleep I mentioned earlier. I will have to work on this. It may be time to invest in coffee consumption. Either way, I’m not really that worried about this place. Huzzah!

3 comments

  1. YAY! I’m glad that things are going well for you!!

    Can you get your caffeine fix BEFORE school? How’s about carrying around one of those sippy cups full of coffee all morning?


  2. I’m not much of a coffee person, but you can guaran-damn-tee I’m gonna get me a Dr. Pepper before I get anywhere near the school, today.


  3. Perhaps you need to find the right coffee. Recently I’ve been feeling the drain and have been quite tempted for a bit of the coffee bean goodness. I’m glad things are going well for you so far! I hope it keeps up. 🙂



Leave a Reply

