h1

first day of school: part one

August 25, 2008

Last night, I sat up a little later than normal doing two things:

1) prepping a lot of posts that I will be putting out in the next few days
2) trying not to be nervous about starting school today.

That said, I’m not the typical kind of nervous. No butterflies here. To be truthful, I didn’t even have that sort of mind-racing nervousness that seems to be more indicative of life lately. No no, last night was this interesting “I know I have to go, but if I stay up it makes it seems less likely, though I’ll never admit this consciously to myself” sort of nervous. Okay, so it wasn’t that bad, but thinking about what I was doing last night instead of sleeping (jumping up and down out of bed, getting online to look at things that never seem to remember to look at during normal waking hours, taking care of every tiny ailment my body suddenly seemed to possess) this is likely what it was.

So, assessing the situation, what is there to be nervous about? Meeting new students and being able to execute the curriculum effectively, though I really don’t know all the details yet. I suppose those are two things to be nervous enough about. I’ve not been anxious at the high school at all, but since most of my problems last year occurred at the junior high, I’m worried about what will happen this year at the middle schools.

Okay, now, says the part of my mother that lives in my brain, worrying isn’t going to do you any good. Yes, mother, I know.

I’ll try to get back on here later day and let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

