h1

on vaccinations

August 7, 2008

Given the recent upswing in the Anti-vaccination movement, I figured it would be a good idea to add one more hit to the blogosphere about it, give my personal story and give a helpful link or two. Okay, one link. Anyway.

When I was two or three, I spent a good many days at my great-grandfather’s house. He had polio. He lived to be in his 80s, but he still hadn’t walked on his own in decades. That in and off itself is a bit disheartening, but here is the kicker: because I was vaccinated, my family didn’t have to worry about me becoming infected as a young child.

I lived in a children’s home during my early life, where my father worked. There were many kids there that were not vaccinated for several things, but I didn’t need to worry about that, nor did my baby brother, because we were vaccinated as scheduled. Same applies for going to school in a low socio-economic area. Some kids just didn’t get their vaccinations, no matter how hard the schools locked them out for not getting them. We were safe.

When I was in high school, a friend of mine got meningitis that put him in the hospital for months, where he lost some brain matter. When I got to college, I got vaccinated, as they told me living in the dorms doubled my chances for getting that horrible and life-altering disease.

My brother, who got chickenpox when he was very young, contracted shingles last year. It wasn’t the worst for him, but it did affect his life pretty bad. He was in constant pain while trying to help his pregnant girlfriend get around and take care of their baby-to-be.

My point? Get vaccinated. Herd immunity is too fragile of a thing with the recent scare of kooks out there. If only a couple hundred thousand people (mere percents of the US population) don’t get vaccinated this year, it could break our immunity as a country. Kids are already dying because of this recent scare. Don’t give into the hype that vaccinations cause autism. It’s junk, and in some places, its the law. And the Center for Disease Control and Prevention is trying to help straighten out the mess.

4 comments

  1. Because I have no immunity to chicken pox (I got them twice as a child and have fairly regular outbreaks of shingles, so I empathize with your brother), my pediatrician recommended that my daughters be immunized against them – if they got chicken pox, I’d get very, very sick. I think immunizations are important and necessary.

    Not everyone believes so, though. I’ve actually had people imply that I was ABUSING my children by having them vaccinated. My thinking is this; if you make an informed decision to NOT vaccinate your own children, that’s your choice. I won’t force vaccinations on your children, so leave your judgment of my choice to vaccinate at the door, please.


  2. Random Note: I had chicken pox TWICE. Also vaccinations.


  3. Oh, what I intended to say:

    People are still learning a lot about autism. I worked heavily with adults with developmental disabilities two years ago. Yes, children are being more frequently diagnosed with autism; but as we learn more about the developmental disability, I can’t help but wonder, “Are we finding it more and more often because it’s happening more and more, or are we just finding it earlier because we know what to look for?” It might be a bit of both. I don’t know, but my opinion is that we’re just recognizing it more.


  4. Thank you, thank you, thank you. I’m a firm believer in vaccinations. John has his all up to date. The only thing that got him was between doses of the Rotavirus vaccine, I think that’s what the letter in German said or it was warning us of an outbreak, I have no idea.

    When I was pregnant with him I was told by one particular friend to avoid all plastics because they cause autism. Yeah, whatever…I used plastic all the time. I guess time will tell, but so far, he’s right on track with developments.



Leave a Reply

