h1

new management

June 19, 2008

I had a job interview in Texas today, just miles from where I went to college. It’s a nice enough city. The interview went pretty well. I’m oddly excited about this one.

Firstly, its not my first choice of places to work, and secondly, its not my first choice of places to live. However, I’ve got two great friends here and I really miss them a lot and want to get back near them. We have long conversations about nothing, and they are some of the few people I can be completely mindless around and they get me. It’s the best part of their friendship, actually. Me getting to be myself in ways that few others understand.

So, here I am, sitting in my mom’s house, dreaming about the possibilities of taking a job back in the place I said I was so ready to leave. When I was finishing college, I was very busy thinking about all the big cities that I was going to move to, all the crazy adventures I was gonna have. A silly notion, mostly, but it is fun to dream. I still do it. I still want to live in Portland even though I’ve never been there.

This last year (he said, constantly analyzing) thought me that maybe its not that you end up exactly where you want to be, but how you handle what you’ve been given, or where you end up. I imagine that, if I end up with this job in Texas, I’ll have to take a completely different approach to it. I don’t know if I would have been able to handle last year any better than I did, but that’s not to know, I suppose. Every day a little wiser, no?

Good parts about this job: I’m with a combination of 60 years of experience between 3 directors, I’ll be watched heavily every day to make sure I’m doing a good job, and I’ll get to teach my primary instrument (something I was completely neglected last year). I’ll be with supportive directors who are more geared toward doing things for good reasons, not simply because “we’ve always done it that way.” And note: if you or anyone you know uses that phrase at any point in the next year, get a mirror, look into it really hard, then slap yourself. After that, get a beer and a notepad and change your mind.

But back to topic: Moving to this city will put me amongst friends, doing things we love, teaching with people who will support me. I’ll be close to family, I’ll be close to highways and airports, and I’ll be closer to maybe getting what I want out of a profession I’ve been so skeptical of. All in all, I think I might end up with someone quite manageable.

2 comments

  1. Shall I turn on the hoping vibrations?


  2. Vibrations are good. I like vibrations.



Leave a Reply

