h1

worry

June 5, 2008

Last year when I was applying for jobs, this of year even, I was still sitting at home, filling out job applications, waiting for people to speak to me. I had made calls and emailed people and was getting nothing. As far as I could tell, no one was doing their hiring yet, not even interviews, and I was getting very antsy.

This year, right now, I’m sitting at home, reading emails saying that jobs are filled. Jobs I really really wanted. Jobs that would put me close to D. I hope its just a fluke, and I hope that its just a couple schools. I was so jumpy about it last year that I jumped at the first job opportunity I was offered, but it didn’t even come until mid June.

And, lazy me, I’m just now filling out applications for Albuquerque and seeing that one of the schools did their interviews on Monday. Le sigh. I hope I haven’t screwed myself out of a decent job this year, because I really don’t want to have to quit teaching, and I don’t want to end up teaching at a crappy little 1A high school.

Okay, breathe, Derek. Breathe.

4 comments

  1. Breathing is very important, Honey. Try to make a habit of it.

    I’ve heard a LOT of high school teachers tell me that they didn’t get their jobs until WELL into August (some got their gigs in September, even). People’s plans change, and schools are left to fill vacated slots at the last minute. I’m not saying you should RELY on this happening, but don’t discount it, either.

    I’ll keep vibing for you – my vibe machine is all cranked up for CTG, anyway – I’ll add you to the visualization roster.

    Love ya!

    Chili


  2. I’m really wishin’ ya the best. Don’t give up. You worked hard to get where you are, it is not time to throw in the towel.


  3. Yes, I concur with Jen. *hands you more towels*


  4. So what’s the deal? Updates! Updates dude!

    or …

    did you already update and I didn’t see it? 🙂



Leave a Reply

