h1

hate

April 23, 2008

Just had a very long conversation with a guy trying to convince me that, while Christians aren’t so bad, Muslims are to be deplored outright. He claims that any Westerner who reads the Qu’ran would feel the same.

I’m thinking about how blind some people can be to so many things. We all try to be very fluffy-bunny about so many things, trying to make everyone comfortable, that we often forget to think for ourselves. I’m as guilty of this as anyone. I want to form opinions based in fact, in knowledge, not in intuition and gossip.

This guy obviously has done his homework and obviously has gone about expressing his ideas as best he can. Huzzah for him. However, I didn’t appreciate him trying to subtly, and somewhat not so subtly, make me hate Muslims too. It’s not that I think he’s wrong or right. It’s not that I don’t agree with some of his thoughts. It’s more that I don’t think I possess the patience and brain power to think as hard about the things I hate as this guy does.

He advocates spreading the word that Muslims should be publicly shunned and that he would not offer aid to a Muslim in need. He has put a lot of thought into this. I don’t know if I want to be around a person so hateful.

2 comments

  1. I’m not speaking for anyone else, but I know *I* wouldn’t want to be around someone so hateful.


  2. Ah, not meaning to put the judgement down, but if he were a good Christian, he would not hate anyone.



Leave a Reply

