h1

renewed

April 3, 2008

I wake up this morning, dreaming of the good news I received yesterday, and I had a bit of a…shifting? dawning? I don’t know, some word to indicate a changing of perspective.

My job sucks. Well, not sucks, but its not ideal and highly frustrating. It could be far, far worse. My co-workers are morons. Well, not morons, but they mean well, and that’s sometimes what gets them in trouble. This town is a shit hole. Well, not a shit hole, but more like a blue-collar town that just hasn’t had to pull itself up by the bootstraps in a very long time and is content with coasting through life. My students are all little imbeciles, but not really because they are just teenagers and I know they are just acting how they feel they need to to get the things they want.

All in all, its been a wonderful experience.

I have met some very amazing people, kind people, smart people, thoughtful people, and some of my students are going to grow up to be great individuals as long as the avenue stays open for them to be so. The chapter of Kappa Kappa Psi that I’ve been hanging out with, Beta Lambda, is full of people who truly have the best interest of their band program in mind, and that is a refreshing sight, having come from a chapter that didn’t so much stay focused as stay entertaining.

I look in the mirror, and feel something should change. I don’t feel appropriate in front of myself, but then it occurs to me that what I’m really feeling is this sense of being in the right place at the right time. I couldn’t have picked a better place to be to get the learning and the experience that I’ve been getting since I arrived in P-ville some seven months ago. How lucky could I be to have such good timing?!

Also: I’m working on the picture below. I don’t know what I did, but it shows up on the website itself when I load the page. I’m gonna keep tinkering with it.

3 comments

  1. Hello, eatsbugs. 🙂 I get an RSS feed of all KKPsi bloggerdashery, and this post came up. Are you a Brother/student teacher like myself? How fun! I’m working with sophomore English classes and definitely feel you on the “how did my teachers DO this?” thing.

    Anyway, I thought I’d say hello. That URL goes to my student teaching blog, which isn’t terribly interesting. I’m keeping all of my information very close to the chest there, as I believe my supervisor reads it, but you can send me an email. 🙂

    Best wishes, and AEA!


  2. Good to know your doing well:)


  3. *hugs* Like all of us have said through the years C-ville and P-ville always draw ya back to it. You may leave it, but you’ll always return. I have a strong urge to visit that area again. It is one of the few places that feels like home.



Leave a Reply

