h1

condensation

January 1, 2008

Since my grandfather has gotten married, there has been a big push to get rid of lots of stuff. They are combining one household, which was full to begin with, into my Popa’s house, which was also full to begin with. There has been a great turn-over of decor, meaning that the table where Meme kept all her collected bells is now also housing a lamp, and the foyer, which once was spacious for walking, now holds a knick-knack cabinet full of small garden gnome-esque figurines.

Placards full of childhood memories have been moved to boxes, cabinets flushed out, closets dusted clean and refilled, rooms rearranged, furniture shipped out. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not really complaining. I did get a very nice bedroom suit and brand new mattresses to help me sleep. With this little gift, I don’t have to worry about freezing to death on the mattresses my mother gave me, which were six years too far used.

I’ve also gotten a slew of cookware, blankets, cups, a whole other set of table and chairs, recliners, and some pretty nifty coats that I doubt I’ll ever wear unless I find myself LARPing.

There is a large trunk coming my way too. It’s antique, will fit nicely at the end of my bed. I can’t wait. If only he doesn’t sell it before I can get to it…

2 comments

  1. Everything has a silver lining, eh?


  2. The trunk sounds neat! I’d love to have one like that to store family heirlooms in for this kiddo and those to come.



Leave a Reply

