h1

numbers 121307

December 13, 2007

I haven’t quite decided if I like this yet, or if I’m done. I’m looking for feedback. Slash me open.

No matter how many times or in what combination you put two odd numbers together
They always come out even.
Something to be said about putting the jigsaw puzzle together to make a picture.
I think about that errant key I found, waiting for the door so long locked.
I think about my stripped sock friends. I think about my gray and tan friends.
How wonderful such a combination.

No matter how many times or in what combination you put two even numbers together
They always come out even.
Something to be said for the clean streets with cookie-cutter houses, interlocked sweetly.
I think about the picture perfect afternoons, where the sun beat down through winter
I think about my straight-laced friends, tying each other’s shoes
How wonderful such a combination.

No matter how many times or in what combination you put an even and an odd number together
They always come out odd.
What breaks down? What is left of middle ground?
There are gray days, when the clouds don’t mesh with blue and the wind consumes heat like dogs inhale canned dog food
There are hot days when shopping carts simmer and sizzle, stared at like sidewalk eggs.
What breaks down? What is left of middle ground?
Only so many cold meals on stoves, so many pillow stashed on office couches.
Only so many lone shining daffodils before the last freeze, so many hot rain days.

One comment

  1. I can’t really shred you on this. I’d change the second “consume” to “devour” or something here – There are gray days, when the clouds don’t mesh with blue and the wind consumes heat like dogs consume canned dog food – that’s the only bit I got caught up on. Other than that, I think it’s wonderful.



Leave a Reply

