h1

whipcrack 111907

November 19, 2007

It only needs a hinge, and then
we can get a good cracking sound.

Think of the oaken parts as leather
think of the space between them as dynamite

We will set fires here so you have targets
but really, focus on just getting a good slap

Should be perfectly timed
Everyone knows where it goes in this song

If you do it right, you’ll feel the burst
it will push against ear drums like whole fingers

There is an infinitesimally small moment to fill
be right in it, and you’ll stop hearts happily.

6 comments

  1. “Think of the oaken parts as leather
    think of the space between them as dynamite”

    I am thinking…


  2. Love the last two lines. Gorgeous work.


  3. love the ‘might escape my brother’ sentence


  4. This is very odd to me But not Bad 🙂


  5. I like how the individual sentences form a whole, telling the tale of a whip cracking. Your poem makes me want to write an American Sentence about the one woman I knew who knew how to crack a whip. Mind if I continue the theme?


  6. Please, be my guest! Thanks for dropping by, everyone.



Leave a Reply

