h1

thankful

November 18, 2007

I take a deep whiff of the sherry-flavored air of my apartment, and even now, stuffed to the top, I am hungry. And something vinegary, spicy about the atmosphere here, too.

I spent all afternoon cooking again, as I did last Sunday, and the ones before that. Today, the menu was Sauteed Onions, Chicken Fajitas, Sherry Chicken, and a very basic Ratatouille, which includes onions, tomatoes and eggplant. It’s different, and I had the eggplant, so I thought I’d try something new. Quite pleased with myself.

I drove to my friend’s house where about fifteen people I’ve met and have hung out with since I moved to P-ville were going to have a Thanksgiving dinner. I didn’t want to go at first because I felt I should be at home today, doing chores, working on school things. Also, I sorta didn’t want to provide food for them. I know that sounds horribly stingy, but I didn’t think I could afford to make me food and then food for fifteen others. Good thing I didn’t prepare anything, it turned out, because my friend cooked both a turkey and a ham, mashed potatoes, stuffing, corn, green bean casserole, bread, cranberries, and a slew of pies and cakes. It was a veritable buffet. It was a very simple and nice. I helped cook, which took of some of my guilt.

We had a prayer, and I almost got nominated to give the prayer, which would have been quite awkward. I declined the offer, naturally, and escaped any obligation there. Then, we sat and had dinner. Very simple. Simple. Lovely.

I’m driving home afterward, and I have this feeling of gratitude that’s not been there before. I’ve not had fellowship like that in so long it took me by surprise. I missed it, and I’m glad to have it back. Something about sitting down a gorgeous and scrumptious meal with a bunch of people I really don’t know all that well, but putting it aside, really opened me up a little.

So, if any of you guys are reading this, I have to say I’m thankful that I had that couple of hours to sit and chill with such wonderful people. Blessings to all of you.

4 comments

  1. Pop quiz: what prayer would you have given? I’m curious.


  2. I thought about this. I was thinking something very very generic, but when I improvised it in my head, I said the word “Universe” and I think that would have thrown some people off. Plus, I wouldn’t have said “god” or “amen”, so that would have been awkward.


  3. minky boodle


  4. I’m glad ya had a good time. I can’t wait to cook my bird!



Leave a Reply

