h1

job hunt, part something

June 26, 2007

My car endured over nine hours of driving time on Monday alone. This does not count the two I made on Friday evening. Nor does it include the time I spent wandering around Surprisingly Large Town, TX looking for an eatery that could quell my need for something salty but not heavy, something savory but not filling. Baker’s Cafe looked quaint.

Mostly a coffee shop and then a dessert parlor, this little hole in the wall had a pretty amazing turkey and avocado sandwich. It was scrumptious. Of course, I don’t remember much of the sandwich other than it making me happy because I shoved it down my throat before having to bolt right back out the door for my job interview there.

We’ll call the heat in San Angelo assaulting. I felt like I was walking into an oven every time I stepped out of my car. I felt less than smart as I was wearing my black slacks, the dark red shirt, sleeves buttoned, and a tie festooned to my neck. It’s like I was wearing an oven mitt: I might not burn, but I’d sure feel how on this oven way. And like most places in Texas, they crank the air conditioners so high in all the buildings that the steam that had collected around your face and hands immediately condenses into a clammy mess. I have my own theories about climate adjustment and temperature moderation, but that’s for later, perhaps. As I think about how sweaty I was getting by simply standing in this luxuriously conditioned administrative building, I figured it might could have been my nerves.

I approached the Human Resources department, let them know I was there, waited to be called into the interview, and we led right there within a few minutes. Just enough time to reacclimate to a cooler temperature, which is better for my overall temperment, given that sweating like a pig is not synonymous with confidence and thoughtfulness.

It was a panel of nine, of which, only two were band directors. The questions were limited. The knowledge base of several of the people in the interview had me questioning why they were there. The four who did even ask me questions were thorough and pleasant, but I wasn’t exactly impressed. This was for only a junior high position. No high school interaction, no middle school involvement. It is standard practice in most schools in Texas and New Mexico to incorporate “team teaching” where all the teachers in the program assist all the other teachers in the program to enrich the learning atmosphere in all the schools. Why do they do this? Well, one junior high band director can deal with as many as 100 students in one class period, while a standard academic class maxes at 30. Breath deep that need for assistance.

They do not team teach in Surprisingly Large Town, TX. They do not team teach.

So to make a long story short, I have accepted a new position at Modest College Town, NM, aka, P-ville.

Don’t touch that dial! We’ll be back with more.

4 comments

  1. Crazy that you’re taking that talk. Crazy!

    Sadly, I will probably leave the day before you start…oh wait, when do you get here?

    Margarita?! Eeeii!


  2. Talk? Um, position. Long day.


  3. Oh you visited the last place I lived before carting off to Germany. Glad you denied that position. Though that town looks promising, it’s rather dull for a town with a university in the center of it, not to mention a military base. P-ville has more thrill to it. I wish you the best with your new job.

    I think I’ve been to that bakery too. It was a favorite stop before we started DnD on Saturdays when we went to pick up the base folks.


  4. Derek,

    Congratulations on the position! Good luck and remember to keep in touch



Leave a Reply

