h1

books!

May 31, 2007

As I woke this morning from a dream about my small dinosaur pet named Monster, I wondered if any of the packages and letters I’ve been expecting over the last couple weeks would arrive. I’m waiting on my letter about National Intercollegiate Band. I’m waiting for a Barnes and Noble order. I’m waiting on information on Band Camp. I’m waiting and waiting.

But one thing did, in fact, arrive. Kate, over at Dating God, sent me some books. She’s in the process of/finished moving to North Carolina, and offered a lot of her books up to willing readers. There was a survey and a short stint where she attempted go guess both what books of hers I might like and my weight, and the result was the following list of titles that came tightly packed in a brown box, left leaning against my front door this morning:

Working Miracles of Love a collection of teaching by Yogi Amrit Desai
Yoga Psychology by Swami Ajaya, Ph.D.
The Secret Science by John Baines
It’s a Guy Thing by David Deida
What is Enlightenment collection edited by John White
The Tao of Muhammad Ali by Davis Miller
The Hidden Dimension by Edward T. Hall
The Dragons of Eden by Carl Sagan
Info–Psychology by Timothy Leary
What Really Matters by Tony Schwartz
Pilgrimage of Love by Swami Shri Kripalvanandji
Messages by McKay, Davis, and Fanning
Jnaneshvari by Shri Jnaneshvar

I’m so excited to have this gift at my door. It’s better than Christmas! I’m naturally quite elated, and I can’t decide where I’m going to start! A big thanks to her for such a lovely service.

And here is where I plug some things.
Bookcrossing.com is a site with nearly 4 million books registered for a swap. At this site, people can make a list of all the books they are willing to part ways with, or leave the location of books they have released into the world to be found by way-faring strangers. Completely free.

Paperbackswap.com works much the same way, except that its direct to reader. You pay some postage, but otherwise, completely free.

Support the idea that information should be shared and sharing should be free. It was free in kindergarten, why not now?

Leave a Reply

