h1

gasoline avoidance day results

May 16, 2007

Did I avoid gasoline purchases yesterday? Why yes, yes I did.

What did I do instead? I kept myself busy. However, I will not go so far as to say that I did this on purpose, because, now, I am low on gas and will have to buy some more tomorrow for my commute.

Is gasoline avoidance on one single day effective? No. Even if 50,000,000 people didn’t buy gas on one day, they would surely have to buy gas on the next or possibly the day before, so the single day would merely be a hiccup that resulted in overall rockets on days before or after the fact.

Is gasoline avoidance over the course of time effective? I would think so. Though there is strategy to it. I do not have numbers to play with, but it seems reasonable to me that it is possible. If 50,000,000 people purchased gas only at regular intervals when it was needed, monitored their driving, reduced needless driving, bought a bicycle or walked to work or recreation, or found a way to modify their cars to burn things such as corn oil, gasoline companies would surely take a hit. Especially with that last one, because you might be making a stop at the gas station once every six months or so. If we could do that, then yes, I see an effect arising.

This is what I intend to do. I will be walking to work each day. I will also only be buying $10 of gas tomorrow. So there.

5 comments

  1. Good for you! We didn’t get gas yesterday either, granted, we had a full tank of gas from last Friday anyway.

    I also learned as to why the Germans have all these canola plants around…alternate fuel source. But now the beer drinkers are pissy because not a lot of barley was grown this season for the booze, so the price of it will go up.

    There’s always something isn’t there? 😛


  2. Yes, I feel very happy to be doing the bike riding bit. Don’t have to hassle with parking either.


  3. I didn’t buy gas, either; however, like Button, I had some from the last time I tanked up, so I’m not sure it really mattered.

    This is SUCH a hard thing to contend with. While I can crow about my little car and its consistently-around-thirty MPG, I have to temper that with the fact that I do an awful lot of driving. Yes, I combine trips. Yes, I walk when I can, but there are precious few opportunities to do that where I live (in semi-rural New England). There is a bus service, but it is mostly a college commuting tool; it’s not effective for the average citizen of my town to go to the market or the doctor’s office. I cannot walk to my grocery store. I cannot walk to my post office. Well, I CAN – I am physically able – but a walk to the post office (which is considerably closer, at about 6 miles, than the market, which is about 14) would take up most of my day.

    We do try to find ways to reduce our dependence on fuel, but there is, literally, only so much we can do on our own. Given our limited options, though, we feel that we’re more dependent on someone coming up with more efficient means of transport than we’d like.


  4. Very very true, Chili. I am lucky to be able to walk to my market, though I probably won’t because I eat a lot and I eat a lot of frozen or chilled things, and don’t want to carry all of that back.

    But bicycle. Yes, I shall be working toward this one.


  5. Is it bad that I now have Queen’s “Bicycle Race” stuck in my head?



Leave a Reply

