h1

thought v. action

May 9, 2007

It becomes more and more evident every time I decide to educate myself in world events that the sides of the aisle are further and further apart.

The right has fallen into zombie mode, where they blindly follow the actions of leaders, and the idea of soaking a sponge in our government so we might obtain the least bit of water to throw against the wall for everyone to see is rubbish. There are words thrown around like “morality,” and “security,” and “prosperity,” “progress,” “stability.” What do these words mean? Even in the context they are given, they have no weight. They have no solid hold on anything. Turning on the news, to any channel, gets harder and harder every day because there is no such thing as a legitimate source anymore, and so what good are the channels of information when they are just as clogged as my arteries probably are.

The left, more and more, seems to be focused on simply shutting down the right. They are more focused on cutting the throats of so many loud voices, instead of simply turning them down. There are simply a handful of truly intelligent, well-informed people out there, and the rest of them are just along for the ride. Sure, I can hold a sign. Sure, I can ride a bike naked. What does that show? What good does protest really do? If I stand on a street corner and scream at the top of my lungs while dancing, sure someone may hear me, and someone may even take what I have to say to heart, but none of us are in a position anymore to make the changes necessary.

Not that I’m in any better shape to make the changes necessary, or to squash the people that are just flapping their lips cause they were told to. I don’t know what to think anymore, and trying to figure it out is harder and harder when all the rivers are polluted. And I don’t mean that in any way literal, apply though it may.

I guess what I’m advocating is complete and utter dominance on one side or the other. Either go full out and start locking up the free-thinkers, or start strapping bombs to oil trucks. Just do it. Get it over with. If we want a fucking revolution, make it happen already.

Biding our time with ethical protests and diplomatic press releases is getting us nowhere.

Leave a Reply

