h1

roll initiative

May 5, 2007

Around 12.30 last night, right in the middle of the one-shot I’d thrown my friends into, I hear these words:

“Oh, so we’re stuck in a bad horror movie.”

Forlorn. My mild attempt at putting together a one-shot campaign setting that would be interesting and challenging turns out to be typical and unimaginative. Though I did get a couple cringed noses when I mentioned the monster who’s entire body was a head with arms attached on which it walks. And it vomits body parts. Yeah, they sorta raised eyebrows at that.

Last nights adventure marks the second game I’ve run that has contained more questions of “what time is it,” than questions about “so, if I want to blow that thing up….” I shouldn’t be so surprised. I did spend only about 4 hours preparing a 5 hour game. However, that isn’t that much less than the suggested amount of preparing time, according to The Dragon’s Landing Podcast, if I remember correctly. But this does put me down as 2/2 in the “Doomed to Fail” category.

The last one was a Mage: the Awakening campaign in which I allowed the players a chance to form a working group on their own, and it took them nearly 50 hours of game time to get anywhere near, and then of our people pooped out, so the game stopped. I’m now looking sidelong as the pile of notes on my bookshelf for that game, and feeling very unloved.

I’ve always prided myself on being creative, but not at being a good gamer, so I guess I really shouldn’t be that surprised.

My selected therapy for dealing with this crisis: Macaroni and Cheese. You know, in the blue box. It’s been years (years!) since I’ve had some, and I feel like getting in touch with my inner child for a moment. Then I’ll probably plop down in front of the TV and watch some Family Guy, which puts me back in my current state of inner cynical young adult. The only thing that would round out this lop-sided meal would be turkey sausage and barbeque sauce. This was once a staple meal in my home. Ah, for the days.

C and I are currently bopping around the idea of some summer blogging project. Brainstorming sessions are scheduled, storyboards are being drawn, staff writers are being hired. We’ll let you know what’s in the works when we come up with something good. Or at least fun for us.

3 comments

  1. We’re hiring staff writers? Where are you getting the money for this? And also, can I dip into that pot for a margarita? Because that will, um, really help my brainstorming.


  2. There will be no alcohol allowed on the studio premise, unless its stocked in the minibar. Or in my desk. Or your desk, cause I did that for you.


  3. *hugs* I find many DMs quite unsure of themselves when they start running. Especially when they start from scratch. We’re doing a campain like that now. Most of the world and rules aren’t quite made yet but we’re bobbing along, quite literally…I’m a pirate! I rather enjoy it. And I enjoyed the online RPG you set up for C and I. Don’t lose hope. 🙂 Maybe your gamers just needed some caffine.



Leave a Reply

