h1

friday’s feast, one day late

April 28, 2007

Appetizer
How fast can you type?

I don’t know, but its probably in the upper seventies. It used to be absolutely dismal. However, I blame online role-play and lots of IM conversations. Damn you chat rooms!

Soup
What is your favorite online game?

Ooh, I wish I had a favorite. I guess, I’m gonna have to go with the Lightsaber Training Module at Kontraband. If only it were an MMO or something. Alas, I am too poor for such frivolity.

Salad
On a scale of 1 to 10 (with 10 as highest), how intelligent do you think you are?

I’d have to standard myself at 7. I can pass pretty much any college course I’m given, I’m sure. However, I make just as many dumb mistakes in life and in academia as anyone else. Mostly, they are careless mistakes.

Main Course
Name three of your best teachers from your school years.

1. First and foremost, I must mention the fine and wonderful Mrs. Lynn Birch. She was my Enriched Learning Program teacher (yes, I’m a GT kid). I can easily say that she single handedly promoted my poetry. If she hadn’t forced me to read the things I wrote outloud and encourage me to write more and more every day, I don’t think I would be nearly as proficient or in love with writing as I am. She helped me learn to work with others dispite differences, and she helped learn to think for myself a bit. No, a lot.

2. Mrs. Sally Lowry was the 9th grade English teacher that helped me and my friends start the “Writer’s Society,” a club we started that year to let those of us who were trying our hands at writing have a platform to explore that better. Also, she encouraged my writing, and she encouraged my wanting to read more. I probably wouldn’t have tackled the Incarnations of Immortality series in high school without her. I read seven books in seven months. That’s a lot for me!

3. Then comes Mrs. Linda Waller. She was the grandmotherly teacher. She was kind, smiling, a little bit spoiling, and fostering of the free intellectual atmosphere of two of my English classes (noticing a pattern here?). I had her two years in a row. She was the AP English teacher in my Junior year, and most promoted to head of the department the next year, so she also started to teach Senior AP English. Two years with the same teacher and the same classmates. It was like being in a conversatory, where your collegues remained the same for long periods of time. She encouraged us to discover our own answers in life, and she taught us form of language a little betten than others had, so it was certainly refreshing. Also, she would sing to us, and it was lovely.

(4. I could add Melissa Myers here, but that’s a subject all on its own.)

Dessert
What are your plans for this upcoming weekend?

Well, this weekend, I’m hoping to go on a date. Actually, that would be today. I’ve got a date with a guy here in the town where my grandparents live, so I’m gonna sneak out this afternoon. Then I have to work on Sunday. Go money!

5 comments

  1. Great feast. My feast is now up.


  2. Oh the ‘Lissa! I’d count her as a teacher too. She’s a wise one.


  3. I’ve said it before, but I sadly do not understand the obsession with Ms. Myers.


  4. Well… I wouldn’t go so far as to say that she was a “wise one” anymore. I do think she had something going for her at the time that most of us didn’t. But, as I think of her, now, I think a few things differently than I did. Such is the privilege of distance.

    And to be honest, I could add Eric as a teacher too. We learn from the oddest places.


  5. To be honest, haven’t we learned at least a little bit from everyone we know?



Leave a Reply

