h1

friday’s feast, wednesday style

April 18, 2007

I linked and linked and linked, and finally stumbled upon a meme that I want to use regularly. It’s called Friday’s Feast, and it features a weekly meme in the formate of a planned menu. Maybe this will be a good thing. Let’s give it a shot.

Appetizer
When you were a child, which crayon color was your favorite?

I was all about blues. Still am, in a way. I remember being pretty fascinated with the differences between blue, royal blue, navy blue, etc.

Of course, I also remember being obsessed with the differences between yellow-green and green-yellow. Or red-orange and orange-red. Those types. I had it worked in my head the nominclature of these colors, and decided that the first color mentioned was the predominant feature of that particular shade. By the 3rd grade, I had a solid concept of the primary, secondary and tertiary colors offered by Crayola. I wouldn’t find out until 6th grade how smart I really was. And I’d quickly figure out after that how little crayons can do for you when you can’t draw for squat.

Soup
On a scale of 1 to 10 (with 10 being highest), how likely would you be to change jobs if it required you to move?

This is easy. I’ll move wherever the money is. I know that sounds greedy, but I’m poor. And unhired. If I can get a teaching job anywhere, I will go there.

Salad
Take all the numbers in your birthday and your phone number and add them up, one by one. What’s the total?

40. Which is how old one of my co-band directors is today. It is also one of many ages I hope to see someday.

Main Course
Have you ever “re-gifted” anything? If so, what was it and who did you pass it on to?

I have not re-gifted. However, I have thrown away a lot of things. No shame!

Dessert
Name something you need from the store.

I really need some more alfredo sauce for the pasta dish that I have in the fridge. I made too much, and I’m learning that raw squash gets slimy in the presence of starches. I want to bake/casserole it, and see if i can get it back to normal-ish. 

5 comments

  1. *pokes at you* Do you need me to teach you how to make alfredo from scratch instead of using the icky jarred stuff? I have the Copy Kat recipe from Olive Garden…c’mon now. 😉


  2. I do, but only if its cheap. Also, if you can tell me how to make this thing into a casserole, that would be lovely.


  3. Update on the casserole: raw squash only makes it a few days before it is permanently slimy. Nothing can save it.


  4. The casserole I have no idea how to manage that. Alfredo to casserole, never have attempted that. Alfredo is cheap to make. Cream cheese, heavy cream, a dallop of butter, Parmesean cheese (preferibly the grated, not the powdered gunk), garlic powder (or you can press some fresh garlic). I honestly don’t do measurements with the alfredo. With the measurements it didn’t come out to my liking so it comes out different every time hehe. Just play with those ingredients until you get something you desire. 🙂


  5. *furiously scribbles notes for future cooking*



Leave a Reply

