h1

The Secret

March 3, 2007

In my ever continuing venture to figure out the world, I’ve come to a general conclusion. I’ve decided that what I’m trying to do is reconcile science, psychology, metaphysics, and magick. And in that continuing work, I have come across something that enlightens, even if that enlightenment is simply one for finding a better path.

The Secret is a method that is pretty common sense and you’ve probably been hearing it all your life. It is about the “Law of Attraction,” which states that you bring everything in your life to you on your own. Good and bad, success and ruin. The movie, which I watched last night with friends, goes into more detail, but they don’t sugar coat everything quite so much as it seems, I think. They do explain that you will continue to have bad things if you can only think about bad things.

I like this idea: you think it, you create it. It is supposedly in line with the way many thinkers have gone on for a long time. Henry Ford, Joseph Campbell, Ludwig van Beethoven, Thomas Edison, Buddha, Albert Einstein, the list goes on. It is worth a look. Worth an open-minded look. I’m gonna give it a shot, and we’ll see what develops.

5 comments

  1. I’ve been wonderin’ about that particular book. Oprah has gone nuts over it and then the Today show did a piece on it…that was an interesting debate. Sadly, our bookstore/video store is not prompt on getting new releases. So I have to wait ’till it gets here or pay S&H and an extra $4 to what I’d pay here. Do keep me posted on what you get from the book.


  2. I’ve not seen the movie of which you speak, but I’ve lived the philosophy for the better portion of my life.

    I come from a long line of people who see themselves only as victims. I refuse to take that path in my life, and I truly believe that we draw in the people and experiences we most need to learn from. It’s helpful to try to examine experineces to see what gifts they have for me and my development.

    Have you read “Illusions” by Richard Bach? There are two quotes in there (well, there are a LOT of quotes in there that I use in my everyday life, but these apply) that go:

    “every person, all the events in your life are there because you have drawn them there. What you choose to do with them is up to you”

    and

    “there is no such thing as a problem without a gif for you in its hands. You seek problems because you need their gifts.”

    Good stuff…

    Funny that I’m just now reading The Five People You Meet in Heaven….


  3. I haven’t read Illusions, but I have read One, and that was interesting.

    It’s not a new idea. Our culture has said things like “be careful what you wish for,” and the like for so long. It’s just now in a newer, shinier package.


  4. My Mom is all about this once she saw in on Oprah. This has been my philosophy for a long time.

    Also, The Five People? Such a good book.


  5. I just read a post about the movie “The Secret.” that I really enjoyed over at The Humble Life. Watching The Secret rubbed me the wrong way, and left a bad taste in my mouth. I won’t ramble here about why, but if you are interested in reading a flipside to this “The Secret” phenomenon check it out here: http://thehumblelife.com/?p=46



Leave a Reply

