h1

lessons

February 13, 2007

I feel like a total ass. I kicked my student out of her lesson because she hadn’t practiced before she showed up. She expected me to practice with her and to help her do everything when she wouldn’t and hadn’t put any effort into it before the lesson. Part of me says that I was being overly sensitive about it and that I might have kicked her out because I would rather be doing anything else than trying to teach her.

Part of me also remembers that part of my learning where they said that you need to stick to your threats. Granted, I didn’t make one per se, but I did insinuate that we would be done early if she wasn’t going to put any more effort into it beyond the lesson.

Was I wrong for doing this? I don’t know, and maybe that’s what’s hurting so bad. I really think that she needed to be more prepared than she had, and tried to put some effort forth. She makes it clear that she has no interest in working or putting forth said effort, so why should I? What makes me the dupe in all this? I didn’t get payed to practice my own stuff, why should I get paid to practice someone else’s stuff for them.

Maybe the worst part is that she doesn’t really even understand what the problem is. For the first time, she uses what her “old lesson teacher” used to do against me. Lucky for me, I can’t stand that guy, and I don’t think he’d make a good teacher anyway.

Or maybe the worst part is that she probably gets some sort of victory out of this because now she doesn’t even have to have her lesson. Something tells me that they will pull her out of lessons, and then maybe out of band. Why do something if you aren’t going to do it all the way? Or even half-way? Hell, even doing what’s asked of you seems to be qualifying anymore…

In better news, I have a new iPod! It’s shiny!

4 comments

  1. I don’t blame you at all dear. As a fellow music lover, I know you have to put your all into it. Practices in class weren’t ever enough, even after school practices weren’t enough. That’s the stuff you take home and drill at until you know you have it. Even then, you don’t stop because you know there needs to be a bit more oomph here and there…or perhaps after all that practicing you lost the feeling behind the music and need to rediscover it. If she couldn’t put her heart and soul into it, perhaps it just isn’t her thing to do.

    Grats on the iPod. I loooove mine and even have handy speakers for it so when I shower I can sing to the tunes.


  2. I think it was good that you let her go. It wouldn’t have been productive for either of you. But really…getting paid to do someone else’s work…I don’t know…shake that tree for what it’s worth.


  3. You TOTALLY did the right thing. If we had more teachers (and parents!) setting and sticking to firm boundaries, we would have FAR fewer problems in the world. You taught your student a valuable lesson by kicking her out; she didn’t fulfill her responsibility of having practiced beforehand and she suffered the logical consequence of that.

    I was talking to a group of students who were waiting for a shuttle the other day and asked them how they were doing in my class. One fo them said “I hate that you don’t accept late work, but I totally understand why you don’t.” YES, love! LIFE lessons!

    Stick to your proverbial guns, my dear. I wish I had colleagues like you!


  4. YAY answers I like! Thank you for your imput…and yes, C, shake that tree..

    You guys rock. Three very dedicated readers, and very insightful!

    Luck with your stuff!



Leave a Reply

