h1

fas·tid·i·ous

December 11, 2006

[fa-stid-ee-uhs, fuh] Pronunciation KeyShow IPA Pronunciation    

–adjective

1. excessively particular, critical, or demanding; hard to please: a fastidious eater.
2. requiring or characterized by excessive care or delicacy; painstaking.

[Origin: 1375–1425; late ME < L fastīdiōsus squeamish, equiv. to fastīdi(um) lack of appetite, disgust, perh. by syncope of *fastutīdium (fastu-, comb. form of fastus pride, conceit + -tīdium comb. form of taedium tedium) + -ōsus -ous]

fas·tid·i·ous·ly, adverb

fas·tid·i·ous·ness, noun

—Synonyms 1. See particular.

Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.0.1)
Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2006.

This is the word that was in my head all day yesterday. I didn’t know what it meant, really, I don’t think, until just now. It’s sorta ironic how the one word I selected out of all the language to be obsessed happened to be synonymous with “particular.”

It is also ironic how someone can be so focused on doing one thing that the entire group he is with kneels to his wants for fear of losing him or making him angry, yet he backs out once everyone is committed.  A friend of mine decided to back out of our role-playing game today because he just wasn’t “feeling it.” We had made a full decision to do the thing he wanted to do, yet he decided to back out anyway, leaving us all with this half-desire to complete what we started.

Since I’m running the game, I don’t know what I’m going to do if people decide they don’t want to play anymore. I also hope that my own tastes don’t leave me, making me apathetic to this game. I wrote it, so it would suck if decided to back out too. *Le sigh,* as C says.

I suppose I shouldn’t be too fastidious. At least not yet.

4 comments

  1. I have a similar problem, though, for me, it’s songs that root themselves in my head and won’t let go. I’ve been humming Billy Joel’s “Movin’ Out” for the week since I posted the opening line on my blog to tell people that I’ve switched servers….


  2. I think all gaming groups have someone like that. Sometimes it’s me when I’m in a bustle hunting down my sheet. Or it’s that one game abruptly stops for no blasted reason before the story is over and we move on to yet another game. New characters, new concepts, new everything.


  3. “*Le sigh*” I like that!!!

    Is it that blessed time of Finals Week for you too????

    **Cass**


  4. Indeed it is! And I finish today if I get my ass in gear.



Leave a Reply

