h1

to teach now/not

November 29, 2006

In the last several days, I’ve had conversations with people about my life dreaming. About what I want to do with my life. Because of these conversations, I’ve decided I still don’t know, and I’m pretty sure I’m not doing what I want, but what someone else wants. I wish I could meet this person so I could hit them. It’s probably some deeper version of myself that I don’t let surface, or something.

Basically, I’m just not sure I want a career. Twenty years seems like a really long time. It’s about double my current life span, and that boggles me. I don’t want to dive into some super-adult, all-consuming career/lifestyle that I don’t even love all that much. I still want to teach, I just don’t know if this is what I want it to be. I think I’d rather teach at a university, but that’s very long term.

So I’ve been looking at these programs where you travel to a foreign country to teach English to the natives. These programs are expense. $5,000 for a year in Hong Kong, which you do get some back, but that’s a lot of money I don’t have right now, added to my current debt. Sheesh.

But I’m seriously thinking about it. What if I could do it? What if I could get that money together, could I do this? I really hope so, because I want to do something different than I’ve ever done, and something that will really give me something to learn from, not that I don’t have plenty here, its just…meh.

So, if anyone has any tips about how to handle the future or where to look for the motivation to enjoy the impending career, please share. I’m all ears.

5 comments

  1. My good friend has been teaching English in Japan for 3 years now. He absolutely loves it. He’s engaged to a Japanese woman now and I’m afraid I’ll never see him again (except on Christmas and such)

    But, he is happy. He says it was the best decision he ever made, going to teach in Japan. Next they plan to travel to Australia where he plans on finishing teachers college. I think that’s amazing. I’d love to travel like that. Live my life all over the world. Be a globe trotter.


  2. We have two guys in our office that taught English in japan. One for 7 years, one for 2 years.

    Whatever you do, do it now. Take risks, move to new cities, experience life. Very quickly responsibility can grab hold of you and it is vital to not live a life of regret. I seized opportunites when I was young and now I live a simple life. Ihave no regrets for my decisions and adventures. Once you have a partner, dog, house, picking up and moving to another country becomes much tougher.

    Also keep in mind, the days of a ‘career’ are over. People change careers and change jobs, it isn’t the end of the world. In fact, it opens new doors. And if you don’t know what to do for a career, then just think about ‘what do i love’ and find a way to make money at it. THAT is what the most successful people are doing.

    Good Luck.


  3. What would you do for no money? THAT’S what you should make your life out of. For me, it’s teaching – I love it, live it, breathe it and would do it for no money (though, it could be argued, I AM doing it for no money…).

    Think about that and get back to me…

    -Chili


  4. Well, good to see that I have a cheering section. The more I think about it, the more I want to go for this program.

    Thanks for supporting me!


  5. Sweety, do whatever you love. A teacher once told me that he wasn’t there for the pay. He was there to see all these kids learn and take in what he was saying. That and he did what he loved. He’d tried many things before he found teaching. I think that was about the only thing that impacted me in that government class in Kansas.



Leave a Reply

