h1

the trouble with neighbors/book’s done

November 22, 2006

Part One:

Last night, at promptly 5:12 am, I wake up to the sound of the gradual crescendo of thud thud thud from somewhere in my apartment. No, it wasn’t in mine. I considered there, while I laid in bed, that it could be my downstairs neighbors making monkey again. However, it was very…VERY…rhythmic. Exact. And it came and went at regular intervals. (yes, I check for that sort of thing, leave me alone.)

So I get up, listen around the bedroom, and its loudest there. The living room harbors some presence of it, but nothing like in the bedroom. Where I sleep. So I open the front door.

I can understand having a good late night. I can even understand having fun during said night and maybe inviting some friends over. And even on a Tuesday night, I could appreciate it under certain circumstances.

However, I cannot, will not, understand a party loud enough to be heard outside the apartment buildings at five fucking twelve ay em. No. Never. And I don’t care if they are international students, and don’t really speak English. Everyone one sleeps. Even you, apartment #29. Go to bed.

Two short repetitions of three fists against the living room wall, and I soon, I was cozing back to sleep in blankets and warmth. Go me.

Part two:

I finished the Ken Wilber book yesterday. One, I’m glad I finished, because it was due on Thanksgiving, and I had to get it back to the library today, because they aren’t open on Thanksgiving. Hell, they aren’t open passed twelve today.

Basic synopsis: Science likes to test things. Religion likes to believe things. So if Science can agree to not be so picky and require that everything be touchable when a lot of things are beyond that (like love, hatred, music and divinity) and realize that that doesn’t disqualify its existence, and if Religion can let its “historical facts” fall to the way said and agree to test its practices and try to create hard, workable practice for all things that it does, then everything will be hunky-dorie.

I really recommend this book if you’ve ever questioned why evolutionary biology and fast-held faith can’t seem to get along.

Leave a Reply

