h1

boob-toob a-no-no

November 7, 2006

When I moved into my current apartment back in December 05, I made a very important decision. I decided not to take cable! That’s right, no TV for me. Though I’m sure the rates of things around here is far less than in certain parts of the country, I figured $50/mo. for a serverice that I don’t readily abuse anyway would be both pointless and cost-noneffective. And with my cable internet costing the same amount, and my ever decreasing presence at home, I’m wondering if that was a bad choice.

But by simply not having TV (even though I do own a boob-toob), I have chosen to not partake of a lot of things. I don’t get to catch up on the sweet shows that have appeared in the last year, nor do I get to enjoy a 5-hour sitting of Rachael Ray or Adult Swim anymore (sad). Granted, I ordered Netflix at the same time, and have been a dedicated customer since, so that takes off some edge, but it goes far deeper than viewing choices.

I was not aware of the amount of conversation that occurs centered around modern entertainment mediums. I can count the times on both my hands and yours and that guy’s over there that I’ve had to tell someone, “Sorry, I don’t have TV, I don’t know what you’re taking about.” I don’t know commercials like I used to. I can’t sit and chat about Family Guy or Aqua Teen, Venture Bros. and the like. I can’t even say I saw that documentary on Discovery Health, or whatever. I’ve made myself a media pariah. If I didn’t still spend way too much time online and didn’t work with newspapers everyday, I’d know nothing about the outside world.

Upsides: I read more. Much more. And I like to think that I’m smarter for it. I get to solve problems for myself instead of just saying, “If I wait another 30 minutes, they’ve figure it out for me.” Also, I don’t have to worry about catching my shows. And that $50/mo that I would have spent on Dumbo-vision, I can now spend on a real passion of mine: food. Not that I’m a great cook, I just like to eat. Cheers!

Also, since I’ve decidedly cut myself from about half the conversations people have, I get to start doing all the weird hermitty stuff, like keeping birds in my beard, and go to the mall just to remember what people look like. Yay creepy!

3 comments

  1. ha! I’ve had only brief exposure to TV; there was rarely one in the house when I grew up (and when there was, it was kept in a closet, and you had to have a reason to take it out and watch it). I had a roommate briefly who had one; she watched a lot of golf, as I recall. But I’ve never owned one . Which is not to say I don’t like to watch it now and again at someone else’s house. But I totally know what you mean about saying over & over “No, I didn’t see [that show] last night. No, I’ve never seen it. Because I don’t have a TV.” And then I stand there and wait for my head to explode while they fill me in on all the plotlines and fascinating character bios.

    Sometimes I just nod & smile, but sometimes I start quizzing them about the names and political affiliations of their elected officials, or candidates running in an upcoming election. Then I wait for their heads to explode. Fun for everyone!


  2. Birds in your beard…I think people would pay money to see that.


  3. I applaud you. There was a time after college, but before marriage, when I kept a television carcass in my livingroom that no longer worked. It appeased friends and family, but no one realized it didn’t function.

    I miss those days. I read more and was completely oblivious to politics.



Leave a Reply

