h1

the problem with living

November 4, 2006

I have days, often, where I wished I’d picked up my bags a couple years ago, and left this armpit of a town. I wish I had decided that I needed to get lost in the world for a while, and done it. However, I’m scared, and I didn’t do it, and I don’t know if I’ll do it after I graduate.

I think about what I want to do with my life, and living it is right at the top. I often think about what it would be like to pick up and get a job in some other state and hope that I can get by. I’ve thought about what it would be like to stay here and try to get by. I’m not the sort to put myself in a turbulant situation, but I’m also not the type to stagnate. I’ve gotten by just fine up to this point, but I wonder what will come when i stagnate in this little place.

I focus on a salary for now. One day, I’ll be making money, and I like that idea. One day isn’t right now, so I have to strive for that. Maybe one of these days, I’ll get the balls to pack a bag and take off into the great wild wonder and just do what I can to make this life something I love.

As Garrison Keillor said, “Thank you God for this wonderful life, and forgive us if we don’t love it enough.”

One comment

  1. Yes, my turbulance is self-inflicted drama. I think traveling might be much saner.

    I do have a shit load of books to take with me though…The problem with material gain.



Leave a Reply

