h1

magick is good yes?

November 3, 2006

To coincide and contradict myself, let’s talk about the positives of magick. Note, there are two kinds: what we will call “wand-waving” and what we will call “mob mind.”

In respect to the first, I can’t say one way or the other as to its true and personal existence. Thinking back on things, and asking some friends, I’ve discovered that I have had my fair share of magickal experiences, and those are both deeply personal and unprovable. Which is why I can’t justify it one way or the other. Regardless of whether it makes any sense at all, there have been events in some peoples’ lives that cannot to attributed to anything other than magick, I think. Be this a psychic happening, an actual spell, or just a weird collection of things that happened to them, these things cannot be reproduced, proven or falsified except through the account of one person’s perception. The event was real to that person, so we leave it there. Who are we…who am I…to judge them.

Magick of this type can serve in two functions: make us question reality or create a psychological trigger. Aleister Crowley, the famous mystic and magick R&D guy, says that magick is “the science and art of causing change to occur in conformity with the will,” which can mean anything from adding symbolism to objects to making money come your way. Granted, Crowley is also famous for making a woman have sex with a goat. Go figure.

Most honest magicians would tell you that no magickal act works alone, and must be accompanied by something mental and physical. If you want that job, you have to apply first. Magick is only a catalyst. So if magick is personal, and not used irresponsibly, then how can I argue.

On to the Mob Mind.

We have all experienced this in one form or another. You are in a crowd, that crowd has a common purpose, the crowd acts, and you can’t help but be involved. Whether its a sports game, a seance, or a good old-fashioned ritual from any demonination, jumping in on occasion and letting things in the moment affect you is very natural. I know I get stirred up quite a bit when I’m in a Circle, and even when I don’t agree with every single thing addressed, sometimes I get a little giddy.

This is the kind of magick that really affects your life. When you leave, you are hanging on to a particular emotion and it slowly carves a hole into you, and lingers. Sometimes, the feeling is bad, sometimes good, but always, it stays around for a while. I like a big over the top production of any one of the Sabbats, and I can’t wait to actually attend one. It could be scary and joyous all that once, with so much stimuli.

So, though I’ve contradicted myself, magick is good. There, I said it.

Also, go listen to Kenny Garrett’s “Happy People” and dance. You need it. Trust me.

2 comments

  1. Hey, this sounds like it came from my question.

    The Doll’s House, what did you think of that? I remember it not being that great, but it had its moments. I really need to chew through my book list as well, it’s just not happening.


  2. I hated it. It sucked. Though I discovered that it can be viewed as either feminist or..masculinist…



Leave a Reply

