h1

Wicked

October 13, 2006

For those of us who read on a regular basis, I’ve come across a terrible plight: the horror of becoming disinterested. It’s absolutely distressing. I am currently reading a book by a brand new author. It’s a pre-release, and I paid almost $40 for it. I get about 80 pages into it, and I completely lose interest. I’m only about a third of the way through it, and I’m sick of it.

I feel bad for the author because he has a very fun podcast that I really enjoy. In fact, it was my love of his podcast that inspired me to buy his novel. I still recommend it to my friends, however, I am bored of it. (btw, its calld Daughter of the Sun, by Lonnie Ezell.

So instead of continuing to read it, I went and bought a copy of Wicked, by Gregory Maguire. I really love it. I’ve only been reading it for a few hours, and already I’m a good clip into it. That may not mean much to most of you, but for me, its a feat. I’m a slow reader, and easily distracted. In fact, I’m distracting myself by doing this instead of reading more.

In any case, its a very good book thus far. I also recommend the musical. However, don’t fool yourself, the book has a much darker tone than the musical could ever hope to achieve.

Leave a Reply

